The Best Accounting Perspectives Case Award

Description of the Committee and Award 

The Best Accounting Perspectives Case Award Committee (Committee) promotes the development of high quality academic, CPA style and other cases intended to provide accounting students with experiential opportunities and advance the case writing skills of Canadian Academic Accounting Association (CAAA) members.  The cases also provide an opportunity to showcase the expertise of CAAA members. The Committee evaluates cases published in Accounting Perspectives (AP) from January 1 to December 31, inclusive each year and selects the recipient of The Best Accounting Perspectives Case Award (Award). 

Committee Membership 

Committee Chair - Megan Costiuk
AP representative - Leslie Berger
CPA Canada representative - Ian Chan
Other Committee members - Sylvie Deslauriers, Richard Fontaine, Sandra Scott and Norman Sheehan
Editor-in-Chief of AP (ex officio) - Adam Presslee

Note:  CAAA members are not eligible to sit on the Committee should have they have a case published in AP that is eligible for the Award.

Factors against which cases and related instructor resources are evaluated

  • Clarity
  • Originality
  • Realism
  • Interest
  • Educational value (applicability to undergraduate and/or graduate accounting courses/programs, appropriateness of issues for intended audience, flexibility to address only parts of case, timelessness, etc.)
  • Currency of technical issues
  • Diversity of technical issues (directed versus non directed, simple versus complex, quantitative versus qualitative, single competency versus multiple competencies, etc.)
  • Inclusion of enabling competencies (ethics, leadership, critical thinking, problem solving, decision making, professional judgement, etc.)
  • Requirement to prioritize issues, integrate, etc.
  • Completeness
  • Quality of instructor resources



List of Award recipients 

Cases published in AP in 2021 - Pascale Lapointe-Antunes, Barbara Sainty and Glenn Skrubbeltrang

Cases published in AP in 2022 - Ron Messer