2017 CAAA Award Recipients

The CAAA Award Committees are pleased to recognize these outstanding recipients who embody the values and mission of the Association: innovators who are committed to promoting and encouraging excellence in education and research in our field.

Our winners will be celebrated at the Awards Lunch at the CAAA Annual Conference in Montreal on June 2, 2017.


Danie Coulombe (2)
 Daniel Coulombe, Université Laval
George Baxter Award for Outstanding Contributions to the CAAA

For exemplary contributions to the Canadian Academic Accounting Association, that illustrate a dedication to helping the CAAA accomplish its mission.


KKlassen _web

Kenneth Klassen, University of Waterloo
L.S Rosen Outstanding Educator Award

For contributions to Canadian accounting education through excellence in teaching, educational innovation, publications, guidance for students, and involvement in professional and academic societies and activities. 



Mohanram _web 

Partha Mohanram, University of Toronto
Haim Falk Award for Distinguished Contribution to Accounting Thought

For excellence in scholarly achievement that clearly contributes to the advancement of accounting thought.



  Bergstrom Low Res    Janz _web

Stephen Bergstrom, SAIT

Steve Janz, SAIT
Howard Teall Award for Innovation in Accounting Education

For educators who go "above and beyond" to create original learning activities and to motivate students to pursue future learning opportunities, with unique and innovative approaches to accounting education.