Howard Teall Innovation in Accounting Education Award

This Award honours Professor Howard Teall, an outstanding educator with the ability to instill an understanding and appreciation for accounting in very diverse audiences – professional accounting students, business students, and practicing managers. He was the recipient of the CAAA's L. S. Rosen Award in 2002 for his continuous and impressive record of teaching excellence, innovative educational practices, and contributions to research and publication. 

Purpose of the Award

The Howard Teall Award recognizes an individual who goes "above and beyond" to create original learning activities and to motivate students to pursue future learning opportunities, and has a unique and innovative approach to accounting education.


Individuals who would like their work to be considered for the Howard Teall Award may submit a description of their education initiative using the procedure outlined below.

Submitters (or at least one person in a group of submitters) must be CAAA members.

Submission Procedure

Submit your proposal via the button below as a Microsoft Word attachment, maximum 4 pages. Your description should:   

  • identify the course in which the activity was experienced   
  • explain why you developed this learning activity   
  • state the learning outcomes pursued   
  • describe the instructional strategies used   
  • expose the evaluation criteria and grading methods applied (if any)   
  • briefly discuss the results achieved.   

To preserve anonymity, submit the cover page (with name and contact information) and the remainder of the proposal separately.

Winners are expected to attend the CAAA Annual Conference to present a workshop on their activity, and the Awards Luncheon on the Friday of the conference.


The Award seeks to recognize educators who: motivate students with original learning activities, seek and employ new ways to encourage students to pursue future learning opportunities, and have a unique and innovative approach to accounting education.

You must be a member in good standing of the CAAA to submit.


The deadline for submissions is February 15, 2021.

Prizes will be awarded only if submissions of deserving quality (in either French or English) are received.

The CAAA Education Committee will select winners in a blind review process.

Past Winners of the Howard Teall Award


First Place: Using a Student‐Generated Video Project to Teach Internal Controls, by Poh-Sun Seow, Singapore Management University

Runner-Up: Using animated videos to teach Principles of Financial Accounting, by Sherif Elbarad, MacEwan University


First Place: Bienvenue à Virtual'Or, première ville digitale ! La ludification d'un cours en ligne en comptabilité de base, by Audrey Bistodeau & Martin Dubuc, Université du Québec à Trois- Rivières

Second Place (a tie): Using a paper-based simulation game to teach the principles of cost accounting, by Sherif Elbarrad & Frank Saccucci, MacEwan University & 

Second Place: ACE (Accounting Challenge) Mobile-gaming app, by Poh-Sun Seow & Suay-Peng Wong, Singapore Management University


First Place: Projet d'intervention en comptabilité dans un contexte de coopération en développement international, by Nicolas Blais, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières.

Second Place (a tie): Financial Literacy Workshop Development, Adaptation and Delivery, by Mary Oxner, Saint Francis Xavier University. &

Second Place: Flipped Classroom: Supporting teaching and student learning through course videos, by Steve Janz, SAIT


First Place: For educators who go "above and beyond" to create original learning activities and to motivate students to pursue future learning opportunities, with unique and innovative approaches to accounting education, by Stephen Bergstrom, SAIT.

Second Place: Advanced Management Accounting Sustainability, by Steve Janz, SAIT.


First Place: Turn the Tables, by Sylvie Deslauriers, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières.

Second Place: Consolidations and Excel, by Stephen Bergstrom, SAIT.

Third Place: Intro to Accounting: Smarties Activities, by Leanne Vig, Red Deer College.


First Place: Identifying and Managing Control System Benefits and Costs, by Norman Sheehan, University of Saskatchewan.

Second Place: A Course Designed to Help Students Succeed in their Accounting Studies, by Sylvie Deslauriers, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières.


First Place: Learning Activity: Costs & Cost Management in the Fresh Egg Industry -"The Cost of an Egg", by Mary M. Oxner, St. Francis Xavier University.  

Second Place: Improving Accounting Students’ Ethical Decision Making: ‘Developing Professional Codes of Conduct Based on Personl Values’,  by Norman Sheehan, University of Saskatchewan.


First Place: Learning by Doing and Reviewing, by Fred Phillips, University of Saskatchewan.

Second Place: Learning Activities for the Chairmans Multitude of Measurement Techniques, by Brian Conheady, University of Ottawa.  


First Place: Modeling Accounting Workplace Interactions with Text-to-Video Animation, by Fred Philips and Norman T. Sheehan, Edwards School of Business, University of Saskatchewan.

Second Place: Ethics Special Assignment by Joseph Faello, Lakehead University. 


First Place: Philanthropy in Accounting Education, by Marsha Huber, Youngstown State University and Shirine Mafi, Otterbein University. 

Second Place: Berries for Breakfast: A Teaching Analogy for the Audit Risk Model, by Chris Burnley, Vancouver Island University.


First Place: An Innovative Technology-Based IFRS Student Video Competition: Experientially Connecting to IFRS Expert Guest Speakers, by Mark Holtzblatt, Roosevelt University and Norbert Tschakert, University of the Virgin Islands. 

Second Place: Dr. PC: A Multi-media Management Control Exercise, by Norman Sheehan and Ganesh Vaidyanathan, University of Saskatchewan.


First Place: Intermediate Financial Accounting Simulation, by Fred Pries, University of Guelph.

Second Place: Speak Up: Redesigning Student Oral Presentations in Management Accounting Curriculum, by Mary Oxner, Saint Francis Xavier University.

Submit your full proposal no later than February 15, 2021.

Submit a full proposal

Award-winning Resources

Download the 2016 Howard Teall Award winners' session resources:

Turning the Tables on Marking

Sylvie Deslauriers, UQTR

Introduction to Accounting: Smarties Activity

Leanne Vig, Red Deer College


2019-2020 Howard Teall Award Committee

The CAAA Education Committee identifies the Chair, who then identifies additional members of the Committee annually.

  • Houda Affes, Chair, Université TÉLUQ
  • Hanen Khemakhem, Université du Québec à Montréal
  • Ralph Tassone, Unive of Toronto