CAAA 2025 NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT



The 2025 Nominating Committee has completed the task of identifying candidates to be approved by the Board of Directors and subsequently by the membership of the Association at the 2025 Annual General Meeting.

The members of the 2025 Nominating Committee are:

- Samir Trabelsi, Chair (CAAA Past-President), Brock University
- Kim Trottier (CAAA President-Elect), HEC Montréal
- Erin Egeland, CAAA BOD Secretary, Vancouver Island University
- Caroline Blais, Université de Sherbrooke
- Rusty Evans, University of Guelph
- Irene Gordon, Simon Fraiser University
- Abiodun Isiaka, University of Regina
- Raj Mashruwala, Haskayne School of Business, University of Calgary

Committee process:

- The Call for Nominations for 2025 open positions was posted to the CAAA website and communicated to members by email starting in December 2024.
 The due date for nominations was February 28, 2025.
- The Committee reached out to candidates during the open call period to elicit interest from a broad range of well-qualified individuals to promote diversity and inclusivity.
- The Committee had a first planning meeting February 10th 2025 to discuss the CAAA new governance structure, strategic priorities, and importance to make the CAAA open its more than 600 members and to consider EDIB in the nomination and solicitation of volunteering process. On April 4th, 2025 a second meeting was held to review the nominations received, and assign candidates to open positions with due consideration of skills, diversity and experience.
- As a result of this process, the 2025 Nominations Committee is pleased to submit the following candidates for CAAA Board and non-Board positions. This set of candidates has been approved by the CAAA Board of Directors at the Board meeting on April 25, 2025.

The Chair would like to extend her deepest gratitude to the members of the 2025 Nominating Committee for their exceptional and loyal service to the Canadian Academic Accounting Association. Their knowledge, experience, dedication and wisdom have been crucial to ensuring that the Association has maintained a strong and diverse force of volunteers to support its ongoing success.

CAAA 2025 NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT



Board Positions

Position	Candidates
President Elect	Karim Jamal, University of Alberta
	(3-year term on the presidential ladder)
Secretary of the BOD	Erin Egeland, Vancouver Island University
	(3-year term)
2027 Conference Co-Chair	Melissa Fortin, UQAM
	(2-year term to end at the 2027 AGM)
Member at Large	Andy Thomas, CPA Canada
	(3-year term)

Non-Board Positions

Committee	Chair
Haim Falk Award	Minlei Ye, University of Toronto (one year term)
L.S. Rosen Outstanding Educator Award	Irene Herremans, University of Calgary (one year term)
George Baxter Award	Maurice Gosselin (CAAA Past President), Universite Laval (one year term)
Howard Teall Award for Innovation in Education	Eloisa Perez, MacEwan University (one year term)
Tom Schneider Award	Devan Mescall, University of Saskatchewan (one year term)
2027 Conference Co-Chair	Zvi Singer, HEC Montreal (2-year term to end at the 2027 AGM)

Samir Trabelsi CAAA 2023-2024 President Chair, CAAA 2025 Nominating Committee