

Promoting Excellence in Accounting Research and Education in Canada Promouvoir l'excellence dans la recherche et la formation en comptabilité au Canada

AGENDA

The Forty-ninth Annual General Meeting of the Members of The Canadian Academic Accounting Association

Friday, June 13, 2025 16:55 Eastern Daylight Time

Meeting Room: TRS 1-129 (7th Floor) Ted Rogers School of Management 55 Dundas St W, Toronto, Ontario

1.	Call to Order and Administrative Announcement	Mark Anderson
2.	Meeting Notice and Declaration of Quorum	Mark Anderson
3.	Approval of the Agenda	Mark Anderson
4.	Approval of the Minutes of the Association's Forty-eighth Annual General Meeting	Mark Anderson
5.	Financial Statements for the year ending December 31, 2024, and the Auditor's Report	Owais Khalid
	MOTION: Be it resolved that the Membership accept the CAAA Financial Statements for the year ending December 31, 2024, as prepared by the CAAA and audited by Graham Scott Enns LLP and presented by the CAAA Board of Directors.	
6.	Appointment of Public Accountant	Owais Khalid
	MOTION: Be it resolved that the Membership approve the appointment of Graham Scott Enns LLP as the public accountant of the Corporation for the ensuing year and authorize the directors to fix the remuneration of the public accountant.	
7.	Proposal to Change the Operating Name of the CAAA	Mark Anderson & Samir Trabelsi
	MOTION: Be it resolved that the Membership approve the change of operating name of the CAAA to:	
	Canadian Association for Advancement of Accounting (CAAA)	
	Association canadienne pour le progrès de la comptabilité (ACPC)	www.acpc-caaa.org
		1 Page

8. Reports of Committee Chairpersons and Journal Editors

a. Audit & Risk Management Owais Khalid b. Publications & Research Liz Demers c. Governance, Peoples and EDIIB (Equity, Diversity, Indigeneity, Charles Cho Inclusion, and Belonging) d. Teaching, Learning, Events, Membership, and Bilingualism Kim Trottier e. Partnership & Sponsorship Rosemary McGuire f. Nominations Samir Trabelsi g. Contemporary Accounting Research Partha Mohanram Adam Presslee h. Accounting Perspectives

MOTION: Be it resolved that the Membership accept the Committee Chairpersons and Journal Editors reports as presented.

g. Election of Directors Mark Anderson

MOTION: Be it resolved that the Membership approve the slate of Board and Non-Board positions as recommended by the Nominating Committee (Appendix A), with the exception of the *AP* Editor in Chief, who shall be appointed by the Board following the recommendation of the *AP* EiC Search Committee.

10. Executive Director's Remarks Carina Hackett

11. Outgoing President's Remarks Mark Anderson

12. Incoming President's Remarks Kim Trottier

13. Other Business Mark Anderson

14. Adjournment Mark Anderson

Following adjournment of the AGM, members are invited to participate in an informal discussion regarding the CAAA's next strategic plan.

APPENDIX A

Board Positions - beginning June 13, 2025

Position	Term	Candidate
President Elect	Year 1 of 3 (Presidential ladder: 2025-2028)	Karim Jamal (University of Alberta)
Secretary of the Board	Year 1 of 3 (2025-2028) (second mandate)	Erin Egeland (Vancouver Island University)
2027 Annual Conference Co-Chair	Year 1 of 2 (2025-2027)	Melissa Fortin (UQAM)
Member at Large	Year 1 of 3 (2025-2028)	Andy Thomas (CPA Canada)

Board Positions - beginning January 1, 2026

Position	Term	Incumbent
CAR Editor in Chief	Year 1 of 3 (2026-01-01 to 2028-12-31)	Anup Srivastava (University of Calgary)

Board Positions - beginning June 1, 2026

Position	Term	Incumbent
AP Editor in Chief	Year 1 of 3 (2026-06-01 to 2029-05-31)	TBD

Non-Board Positions - beginning June 13, 2025

Committee	Term	Chair
Haim Falk Award for Distinguished Contribution to Accounting Thought	1 year	Minlei Ye (University of Toronto)
L.S. Rosen Outstanding Educator Award	1 year	Irene Herremans (University of Calgary)
George Baxter Award for Outstanding Contributions to CAAA	1 year	Maurice Gosselin (Universite Laval)
Howard Teall Award for Innovation in Accounting Education	1 year (Extension)	Eloisa Perez (MacEwan University)
Thomas Schneider Community Impact Research Award	1 year (Extension)	Devan Mescall (University of Saskatchewan)
2027 Annual Conference Co-Chair (Nonboard)	Year 1 of 2 (2025-2027)	Zvi Singer (HEC Montreal)

For Information Only: Board Positions - Continuing Members

Position	Term	Incumbent
President	Year 2 of 3 (Presidential ladder: 2024-2027)	Kim Trottier (HEC)
Past-President	Year 3 of 3 (Presidential ladder: 2023–2026)	Mark Anderson (University of Calgary)
Treasurer	Year 2 of 3 (2024-2027)	Owais Khalid (Fractional CFO)
Education Committee Chair	Year 3 of 3 (2023-2026)	Sonia Dhaliwal (University of Guelph)
Publications and Research Committee Chair	Year 3 of 3 (2023-2026)	Liz Demers (University of Waterloo)
Membership Committee Chair	Year 2 of 3 (2 nd 3-year mandate: 2024-2027)	Valerie Warren (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
Canadian Accounting Hall of Fame Director and Member at Large	Year 2 of 3 (2024-2027)	Ron Salole (Retired, CPA Canada)
Member at Large	Year 3 of 3 (2023-2026)	Anna Czegledi (Conestoga College)
Member at Large	Year 2 of 3 (2024-2027)	Robert Andrews (Athabasca University)
Member at Large	Year 2 of 3 (2024-2027)	Charles Cho (York University)
CAR Editor in Chief	Year 3 of 3 (2023-01-01 to 2025-12-31)	Partha Mohanram (University of Toronto)

APPENDIX A

AP Editor in Chief	Year 3 of 3 (2023-06-01 to 2026-05-31)	Adam Presslee (University of Waterloo)
2026 Annual Conference Co-Chair	Year 2 of 2 (2024-2026)	Rong Zhao (University of Calgary)

For Information Only: Non-Board Positions – Continuing Member

Position	Term	Incumbent
2026 Annual Conference Co-Chair (Non-board)	Year 2 of 2 (2024-2026)	Ke Wang (University of Alberta)